Source: Scientists for Palestine

[Scientists for Palestine->http://www.scientists4palestine.com/] is an international organisation created by and for scientists to promote science and support the integration of the occupied Palestinian territories in the international scientific community.

Bisan Lecture Series – The Palestine Lens: A Conversation with Annemarie Jacir

The upcoming Bisan Lecture webinar scheduled for Wednesday, February 14th, at 7 pm Palestine time (6 pm Central European Time, 12 noon US Eastern time). We are honored to host acclaimed Palestinian filmmaker Annemarie Jacir for an engaging conversation with George Smith, Nobel Prize Laureate in Chemistry and member of our Steering Committee, titled 'The Palestine Lens: A Conversation with Annemarie Jacir.' (English with simultaneous Arabic translation for those who wish) You can register for the webinar by clicking here!

Bisan Lecture Series – John Hardy on Alzheimer’s disease – January 10th at 7pm Palestine time

The next Bisan Lecture webinar will take place on January 10th at 7pm Palestine time (6pm Central European Time, 12 noon US Eastern time). We will have the pleasure to welcome Prof. John Hardy (University College London) who will speak (in English with simultaneous Arabic translation for those who wish) on Alzheimer’s disease: from genetic analysis towards (limited) successful treatment.

Bisan Lecture Series – Etienne Balibar – Palestine, Ukraine and other wars of extermination: the local and the global

The next Bisan Lecture webinar will take place on December 13 at 7pm Palestine time (6pm Central European Time, 12 noon US Eastern time). We will have the pleasure to welcome Prof. Etienne Balibar (Paris-Ouest University) who will speak (in English with simultaneous Arabic translation for those who wish) on “Palestine, Ukraine and other wars of extermination: the local and the global”. You can register here.

Bisan Lecture Series – Rashid Khalidi – The Latest Phase of the Hundred Years’ War on Palestine

The next Bisan Lecture webinar will take place on Wednesday, October 11th at 7pm Palestine time (6pm Central European Time, 12 noon US Eastern time). We will have the pleasure to welcome Prof. Rashid Khalidi (Columbia University) who will speak (in English with simultaneous Arabic translation for those who wish) on The Latest Phase of the Hundred Years’ War on Palestine.

Bisan Lecture – Ivar Ekeland – Climate change: transition, bifurcation or catastrophe?

The last Bisan Lecture webinar before the summer holidays will take place on Wednesday, May 10th at 7pm Palestine time (7 pm Israel, 6 pm CET, 5 pm UK, 12 noon US Eastern). We will have the pleasure to welcome Prof. Ivar Ekeland (University Paris-Dauphine) who will speak (in English with simultaneous Arabic translation for those who wish) Climate change: transition, bifurcation or catastrophe? You can register for the webinar by clicking here!

Bisan Lecture Series – Nergis Mavalvala – The Warped Universe: the quest to discover Einstein’s elusive gravitational waves

The next Bisan Lecture webinar will take place on Wednesday, April 12th at 7pm Palestine time* (7pm Central European Time, 1pm US Eastern time). We will have the pleasure to welcome Prof. Nergis Mavalvala (MIT) who will speak (in English with simultaneous Arabic translation for those who wish) on The Warped Universe: the quest to discover Einstein’s elusive gravitational waves. You can register for the webinar by clicking here!

Bisan Lecture Series – Joel Beinin – Egyptian Popular Culture in Late-Ottoman and Mandate Palestine

The next Bisan Lecture webinar will take place on Wednesday, March 8th at 7pm Palestine time (6pm Central European Time, 12 noon US Eastern time). We will have the pleasure to welcome Prof. Joel Beinin (Stanford) who will speak (in English with simultaneous Arabic translation for those who wish) on Egyptian Popular Culture in Late-Ottoman and Mandate Palestine. You can register for the event on Zoom here.

Bisan Lecture Series – Juliet Floyd – Revisiting the Turing Test: Humans, Machines, and Phraseology

The next Bisan Lecture webinar will take place on Wednesday, February 8th at 7pm Palestine time (6pm Central European Time, 12 noon US Eastern time). We will have the pleasure to welcome Prof. Juliet Floyd (Boston University) who will speak on Revisiting the Turing Test: Humans, Machines, and Phraseology. You can register for the event on Zoom here.

Bisan Lecture Series – Mark Smith – Ibn al-Haytham’s Analysis of the Moon Illusion: A Case Study in Appropriation, Assimilation, and Innovation

The next Bisan Lecture webinar will take place on Wednesday, January 11th at 7pm Palestine time (6pm Central European Time, 12 noon US Estern time). We will have the pleasure to welcome Prof. Mark Smith (University of Missouri) who will speak on Ibn al-Haytham’s Analysis of the Moon Illusion: A Case Study in Appropriation, Assimilation, and Innovation. You can register for the event on Zoom here.